This historic house is set within Windsor Great Park, 1 mile from Windsor Castle. We were lucky with the weather and were met by three guides to show us around in three groups. Firstly a little of its history:
The house at Frogmore was built for Anne Aldworth and her husband Thomas May in about 1680 and the estate first came into royal ownership in the mid sixteenth century. It passed through many crown tenants before being bought for Queen Charlotte in 1792 (consort to George III). The house was extended and altered and was used as a retreat by Queen Charlotte everyday. When she died (1818) the estate passed to her eldest unmarried daughter Princess Augusta and most of the contents were sold in auctions by Christies in 1819 to benefit all the daughters. The land (about 350 acres) was bought by the crown from Princess Augusta’s Executors and annexed to the royal estates at Windsor by an Act of Parliament.
Queen Victoria’s mother used the house for 20 years and is buried in a small mausoleum, near Prince Albert and Queen Victoria’s larger one, in the grounds.
Queen Victoria and later Royalty used the house regularly, and King George VI first opened the Gardens to the public, in aid of the Queen’s District Nurses. The Residence and principal rooms were opened to the public in summer 1990. It is no longer a royal residence but is used frequently by the family.
The building houses all sorts of interesting artefacts made or used by the family. In the early 20th century Queen Mary was instrumental in using Frogmore as a museum for family souvenirs, bygones, and odds and ends; these are fascinating. During the restoration during the 1980’s it was decided to rearrange and redecorate certain rooms to show the principal phases of the house’s occupation from the early 18th C to the mid 20th C.
Queen Victoria’s tearoom is a small picturesque building in the southeastern corner of the landscaped gardens dating from1869-70.